ECU clinches The American’s regular season title

Friday, May 10 Results:
No. 8 ECU 6, Wichita State 1 RECAP BOXSCORE
Cincinnati 7, Memphis 4 RECAP BOXSCORE
No. 8 ECU clinched its first American Athletic Conference outright regular season title with a 6-1 win at Wichita State Friday night. The Pirates improved to 17-2 in American play, earning the second-most league wins in conference history with five more conference games left to play. With its Friday night victory, ECU also sealed the No. 1 seed at The American Championship in Clearwater, Fla., from May 21-26. Cincinnati and UConn joined the Pirates in earning Friday wins.
No. 8 ECU 6, Wichita State 1
Jake Agnos tossed seven shutout innings, while Alec Burleson drove in four runs helping No. 8 ECU to a 6-1 win over Wichita State Friday night at Eck Stadium. ECU scored twice in the second and sixth innings and plated one in the fifth and eighth frames. The Pirates won their first regular season title since 2009 (Conference USA). Agnos (8-2) earned the win after working seven scoreless innings where he extended his streak to 26.0 innings without allowing a run. The lefty gave up four hits, walked five and punched out six which pushed his strikeout total to a conference-high 114 on the season. Ryder Giles worked the final two frames surrendering one run on one hit with a walk and three strikeouts.
ECU out-hit Wichita State 12 to 5 in the game and improved to 25-1 when registering double-digit base knocks. Burleson led four Pirates with multiple hits going 3-for-4 with four RBIs. The Shockers scored a run in the ninth avoiding a shutout when Ross Cadena scored on a throwing error. The two clubs will continue the three-game series Saturday at 3 p.m. ET.
UConn 4, USF 2
A late rally lifted UConn to a 4-2 series-opening win over USF. The Huskies trailed for most of the game until Anthony Prato delivered a two-run homer in the seventh to hand UConn a 3-2 lead. Starter Mason Feole posted a second-straight quality start, striking out a season-high 11 batters and allowing one earned run in six innings of work. Jake Wallace earned his conference-best 12th save of the season by grabbing the final four outs of the ballgame. Kyler Fedko provided an insurance RBI single in the eighth to push UConn’s lead to 4-2.
USF’s Garrett Zech went a season best 3-for-4 with a walk. The Bulls’ starter Baron Stuart tossed 6.0 innings, allowing just one run with four strikeouts. UConn’s Chris Winkel made a diving snag on USF’s Jordan Santos’ line drive in the top of the ninth that ended the ballgame and secured the win.
With the victory, the Huskies grabbed its 30th win of the season. UConn has secured 13 30-win seasons under 16th year head coach Jim Penders. The Huskies and Bulls will close out J.O. Christian Field on Saturday with a doubleheader beginning at 11 a.m. ET. There will be a ceremony after game two to commemorate the 51 years the Huskies have played at the JOC.
Cincinnati 7, Memphis 4
Cincinnati scored six runs in the first two innings and held onto a 7-4 lead through a lengthy rain delay in a series-opening win at FedExPark. The Bearcats led 7-3 in the eighth inning before a four-hour rain delay halted the game. After the delay, Cincinnati closer Korren Thompson shut the door with three strikeouts in the final 1.2 innings to secure the win. David Orndorff went 6.1 innings for the Bearcats with two runs on five hits with one walk and four strikeouts. Joey Bellini had a big day at the plate, going 2-for-4 with a homerun and four RBIs. Jeremy Johnson also went 2-for-4 with a double.
Memphis’ Nick Vaage posted a 3-for-3 day at the dish and plated a run. The Tigers brought home three runs in the seventh inning before the rain delayed the game for four hours and 20 minutes. The Bearcats and Tigers continue the series with a 3 p.m. ET game on Saturday.
Saturday, May 11
USF at UConn* - 11 a.m. (DH)
ECU at Wichita State* - 3 p.m.
Cincinnati at Memphis* - 3 p.m.
Tulane at Houston* - 3 p.m. (DH)
Sunday, May 12
ECU at Wichita State* - 2 p.m.
Tulane at Houston* - 2 p.m.
Cincinnati at Memphis* - 2 p.m.
All times Eastern and subject to change
*Denotes conference game