American Athletic Conference/ Ben Solomon

ECU's Agnos, Houston's Harm Named American Scholar-Athletes of the Year


PROVIDENCE, R.I. -- ECU baseball player Jake Agnos and Houston golf standout Leonie Harm have been chosen as the 2018-19 American Athletic Conference Scholar-Athletes of the Year, as chosen by the conference's faculty athletics representatives.
Agnos, who was chosen as The American's Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and Harm, The American's Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year, will each receive a $4,000 postgraduate financial scholarship.
Agnos and Harm were chosen from a group of 23 individual sport Scholar-Athletes of the Year, who each received a $2,000 postgraduate scholarship.
Agnos was chosen to six All-America teams in 2019 and was tabbed as a first team Google Cloud Academic All-America selection. The American Athletic Conference Pitcher of the Year won the conference's pitching triple crown after he led the league in wins (11), strikeouts (a conference-record 145) and earned-run average (2.29). He was selected by the New York Yankees in the fourth round of the 2019 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft.
Agnos becomes the first ECU student to be named as the conference's Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year.
Harm is a two-time American Athletic Conference women's golf Player of the Year who was the individual medalist at the 2019 American Championship as she led the Cougars to the team title. She is a three-time all-conference selection, a two-time individual qualifier for the NCAA Championship, was tabbed as an honorable mention All-America selection by Golfweek and the Women's Golf Coaches Association and is a three-time WGCA All-American Scholar.
Harm is the third Houston student to earn The American's Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year award. She joins volleyball player Kadi Kullerkann, who was the 2015 winner, and diver Micaela Bouter, who won in 2017.
Selections for the Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards are made by the faculty athletic representatives on the basis of academic credentials and athletic performance. Each conference school may nominate one student-athlete who has achieved senior academic standing as determined by the institution. A winner is chosen from each of the conference's 22 sponsored sports in addition to an at-large selection from a sport not sponsored by the conference.
2019 American Athletic Conference Male Scholar Athlete of the Year
Jake Agnos, ECU (Baseball)
2019 American Athletic Conference Female Scholar Athlete of the Year
Leonie Harm, Houston (Golf)
2019 American Athletic Conference Scholar Athletes of the Year
Sport Student-Athlete School Highlights
Baseball Jake Agnos ECU First-team All-America; American Pitcher of the Year
Men's Basketball Tacko Fall UCF All-conference pick; 2017 American Defensive Player of the Year
Women's Basketball Katie Lou Samuelson UConn Two-time American Player of the Year
Men's Cross Country Emmanuel Rotich Tulane American Runner of the Year; two-time individual champion
Women's Cross Country Alyssa Bolliger Tulsa Top-20 finisher at American Championship
Football Matt Hennessy Temple First-team All-ECAC center
Men's Golf Austin Squires Cincinnati American individual runner-up and NCAA regional qualifier
Women's Golf Leonie Harm Houston Two-time American Player of the Year
Women's Lacrosse Maddie Gebert Temple All-conference first team selection
Women's Rowing Emily Fogg SMU All-conference coxswain of the 2019 American Boat of the Year
Men's Soccer David Zalzman Memphis First team all-conference midfielder
Women's Soccer Lizzie Woerner Memphis First team all-conference selection in 2017
Softball Savannah Heebner Houston Four-time first-team all-conference selection
Men's Swimming and Diving Lucas Schenke SMU Member of three all-conference relay squads in 2019
Women's Swimming and Diving Peyton Kondis Houston Two-time conference champion in 100 breaststroke
Men's Tennis Majed Kilani Tulsa Three-time all-conference selection and two-time NCAA qualifier
Women's Tennis Martha Matoula Tulsa Two-time all-conference; 2018 NCAA doubles round of 16 qualifier
Men's Indoor Track and Field Olushola Olojo Memphis Three-time Google Cloud/CoSIDA Academic All-America
Women's Indoor Track and Field Loretta Blaut Cincinnati Top-three NCAA high jump finishes in 2018 and 2019
Men's Outdoor Track and Field Mario Burke Houston Two-time NCAA champion in 4x100-meter relay
Women's Outdoor Track and Field Ashley Pryke Memphis Three-time conference champion in javelin throw
Women's Volleyball Emily Thorson Tulsa Two-time first-team all-conference selection
At-Large (Equestrian) Nora Gray SMU NECA Co-Rider of the Year